Our Board

The Board of Directors manages the overall business of the Telethon Kids Institute and meets six times annually. Board members serve on a voluntary basis. In order to carry out business effectively, various committees support the Board by offering advice in specific areas.

Read our Corporate Governance statement

Read our Board Charter



John Langoulant

John Langoulant AO

Chair, Telethon Kids Institute; Chair, Government Employees' Superannuation Board; Chair, Leadership WA; Deputy Chair, Western Australian Ballet; Member, Senate of The University of Western Australia; Board Member, Council of Australian Governments' Reform Council; Board Member, Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA; Board Member, Committee for Perth; Chair, Dampier to Bunbury Pipeline.


Jonathan Carapetis

Professor Jonathan Carapetis

Director, Telethon Kids Institute (from 23 Jul 2012); Member, State Health Research Advisory Council; Former Chair, Advisory Board for Centre for School Leadership, Learning and Development, Charles Darwin University; Member, One Disease at a Time Board; Member, Program Management Committee, RHD Australia; Member, National Committee for Medicine, Australian Academy of Science; Chair, Clinical Advisory Group, WA RHD Control Programme.


Jeff Dowling

Jeff Dowling

Former Managing Partner, Ernst & Young Western Region; Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors; Fellow, Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia; Fellow, Financial Services Institute of Australasia; Board Member, West Australian Symphony Orchestra; Former Member of Board of Trustees, United Way; Director, Atlas Iron Limited; Director, Neptune Marine Services Limited; Chairman, Sirius Resources NL; Chairman, St Andrews Insurance Ltd; Deputy Chair, Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority.


Michael Manford

Michael Manford

Executive Chairman, Patersons Securities Limited; Chairman, Patersons Asset Management: Board Member, St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls; Panel Member, ASIC Markets Disciplinary Panel.



Michael McAnearney

Michael McAnearney

Director and CEO International, Gerard Daniels Australia; Member, Australian Institute of Company Directors; Member, Risk and Compliance Committee; Director, Duke of Edinburgh Award WA



Jim McGinty

Jim McGinty AM

Chairman, Health Workforce Australia; Board Member, Australian Medicare Local Alliance; Former WA State Health Minister; Former WA Attorney General.



Rohan Williams

Rohan Williams

Non-executive Chairman Dacian Gold Ltd; Non-executive Director Alacer Gold Corp; Founding CEO and former Managing Director of Avoca Resources Ltd.


A number of committees offer advice to the Board and management in specific areas.  Below is a list of the current committees and the Chair of each.

Board Sub-Committees

Finance and Governance Committee
Chair: Jeff Dowling

Risk & Compliance Committee
Chair: Michael Manford

Remuneration Committee
Chair: John Langoulant

Institute Committees

Aboriginal Consultation Committee for Applied Research and Evaluation (ACCARE) 
Chair: Kate George

Animal Ethics Committee
Chair: Bruce McHarrie

Statement of Commitment to Humane Care and Use of Animals in Research

Consumer and Community Advisory Council
Chair: Julie Ireland

Institute Biosafety Committee
Chair: Anthony Kicic

Occupational Health & Safety Commitee
Chair: Kristy Le May

Scientific Advisory Council
Chair: Jonathan Carapetis

Research Excellence Council
Chair: Paul Watt


Subscribe to our e-news

Mailing list terms and Conditions

By subscribing to this service you are giving Telethon Kids Institute permission to contact you direct via email. You may unsubscribe at anytime via the emails sent to you.

Your email address will not be disclosed to any third party.

Please agree with the Terms & Conditions.